County Recorder

Danielle Petersen
PO Box 68
Mohall, ND  58761

The Register of Deeds office is one of the county offices formally organized by the Constitutional Convention of 1889, and in some counties existed as part of the Territorial Offices. The Register of Deeds has now been changed to County Recorder.

County Recorder officers are elected to four-year terms which begin January 1. In a few counties the position is appointed, but election remains the predominant method for citizens to select a County Recorder.

The information filed and recorded in the County Recorder's office is used by the Auditor, Treasurer, Commissioners and other county officials that provide service to the citizens.

The Register of Deeds Association was organized in 1928 to help North Dakota's 53 counties keep up-to-date with changes in methods of recording and with changes in laws affecting their offices. The Register of Deeds Association also monitors legislation and proposes to better serve the state. An annual summer meeting is held along with training sessions and Quad meetings.

The County Recorder's are active members of the N.D. Association of Counties and have representatives on the Executive Committee. When special problems arise, the Recorders assist the commission in resolving land problems.

County Recorder Office Functions:
1. Land Record Manager - As the land record officer, the County Recorder office keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership and accurate account of financial responsibilities. This provides the information necessary for both the secured and debtor parties.

2. UCC/CNS - Through ND Secretary of State

3. Customers - The County Recorder office works with a wide and varied customer base. These customers use the filed and recorded information to document legal instruments, create and/or extend abstracts, conduct land appraisals, locate property lines, draw plats, search ancestry, historical data, heirships, mineral leases, courtroom testimony, UCC/CNS and many other interest.

County Recorder Duties
1. Keep a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale, security agreement, judgement, decree, lien, certificate of sale and other instrument required to be filed or recorded in proper books provided for such recording, upon receipt of the filing or recording fees.

2. Label each instrument filed for record or otherwise the date, hour, minute of the day of such filing.

3. In addition to the date, each document received for filing or recording shall state the number or letter designating the book of records in which the record of the instrument is made and the page upon which it is recorded

4. Each recorded document shall also state the date, hour and minute of the date when it was filed, the book of records in which it is recorded and the page upon which it is recorded.

5. Prepare a UCC abstract whenever any person requests it and pays the required fee.

6. Furnish upon request (written or by telephone ) to persons information contained in financing statements to perfect a security interest pursuant to chapter 41-09 when the collateral is farm products, and provide written confirmation of the oral information provided upon receipt of a fee which shall be the same as for recording that instrument.

Recording Information

1-5 pages: $20
6-25 pages: $65

One inch margin on the top, bottom, left, or right of each page. (If not, an additional $10 fee will be applied). A 4 x 3 inch space must be provided on the top of the first page or bottom of the last page of each instrument. (If not, an additional page charge will be levied). For more information on Recording Fees see NDCC 11-18-05).


  1. Document must be an original or certified copy.
  2. All dates filled in.
  3. Adequate county legal description.
  4. All signatures must be original handwritten
  5. Acknowledgment(s):

  1. Statement of full consideration (not required on a deed covering mineral interest only).
  2. Auditor's transfer stamp and seal (not required on a deed covering mineral interest only). All real estate taxes must be paid before any deed can be recorded.
  3. Post Office address for Grantee(s).
  4. Name and address of Drafter of legal description on deed or contract for deed, executed on or after 01/01/2000 that contains a metes and bounds legal description (NDCC 47-19); in the form of "This legal description was prepared by (name ) (address)." or a statement that reads " The legal description was obtained from a previously recorded document".

  1. Post Office address of the mortgagee(s)
  2. Post Office address of the Assignee(s) on assignments of mortgages.


Uniform Commercial Code Financing Central Notice Sytem (UCC/CNS) - The County recorder's statewide computer service links all 53 counties and the Secretary of States office. The UCC/CNS statewide system provides a secure, expedient and accurate method to process, store and retrieve personal property liens fro both debtors and secured parties. The Secretary of State website can be accessed by using


North Dakota Recorders Information Network (NDRIN) - A group of North Dakota counties have joined together to extend the application of the 1999 disaster-proofing FEMA grant and provide access to real estate records via the Internet. These records have previously been available only through books and microfilm in the Recorder's Offices in the county courthouses. The service allows users to log onto the web-site to search, view and print records, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from the counties publishing data to the network. Potential customers interested in subscribing to NDRIN can do so on line at .


Birth & Death Records:

Divorce Decrees: Clerk of Courts

Passport Information:

Marriage License Applications

A marriage license must be applied for in person. Applicants do not have to be Renville County residents. Both parties are required to be present and complete the application. To obtain a marriage license you must be 18 years of age. You must know the following information for both parties:

In the state of North Dakota there is no waiting period after you apply for the license before the marriage may take place. The license must be used within 60 days and may be used anywhere in North Dakota.

Make check payable to the Renville County. You may pay by CASH or PERSONAL CHECK only. We currently do not accept credit or debit cards.

CSC eRecording Solutions

Email Address -
Phone Number - 866-652-0111
Website -